Group ActivitiesPrint

  • Mechanical Engineering Group


    Mechanical Engineering Group is involved in various mechanical engineering activities in Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata related to the development of accelerator and detector systems. The involvement starts from the design of the systems, to the 3D modeling, prototyping, fabrication, testing, installation, and ends with commissioning, and continues with operation & maintenance.
    The latest FEA software is used to design accelerator magnets and cavities – both operating at room temperature and cryogenic temperature. CAD software is used to generate computer models and fabrication drawings. CAM software is used to generate machine codes for use in the workshops under the group.
    The group has small workshops having machining facilities for manufacturing of precision components with complex geometries. It has a few CNC machines, wire cut Electro-discharge machine (EDM), CNC profile EDM, co-ordinate measuring machine, welding equipments, conventional lathes, milling machines and a Coordinate Measuring Machine (CMM).
    The room temperature cyclotron and the superconducting cyclotron operate round the clock.  Maintenance of the cyclotrons is carried out on top priority basis to ensure maximum availability. The low conductivity water unit is responsible for supply of instrumentation air and low conductivity water systems for both the cyclotrons. It uses Reverse Osmosis unit and mixed bed to generate and polish the low conductivity water.
    The Group has strong cryogenic activity, operating two liquid helium plants round-the-clock for the superconducting cyclotron and maintaining the superconducting coil at 4 K. The expertise includes design of superconducting magnets, cryogenic systems, cryogenic instrumentations and control systems, etc.
    The industrial and fire safety culture is also a part of the regular activities and a small team is dedicated to implement safety culture at the Centre.

    Group Organisation:

    Group Head:              Anjan Dutta Gupta
  • Mechanical Engineering Design & Research Division
  • Anjan Dutta Gupta
           Workshop Kanchan Majumdar
  • Mechanical Engineering Section
  • Bidhan Chandra Mandal
          Transport Maintenance Unit Barun Kumar Das
  • Cryogenic Instrumentation Section
  • Tamal Kumar Bhattacharyya
  • Cryogenic Plants and Instrumentation Section
  • Sandip Pal
  • Accelerator Technology Development (Mechanical) Section
  • Chinmay Nandi
    Mechanical Maintenance Islam Siddiqui
  • Low Conductivity Water System
  • Joydeep Misra
    Fire & Safety Section Barun Kumar Das




    K130 Cyclotron Superconducting Cyclotron
    Medical Cyclotron Electron Linac
    Rare Ion Beam Project Superconducting Cavities
    Detectors Technology Development
    FAIR Magnets Publications